The Twig

Congratulations to the 2013 American Library Association award winners!

The Newbery Medal: The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate

Newbery Honor Books:

Splendors and Glooms, by Laura Amy Schlitz

Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon, by Steve Sheinkin

Three Times Lucky, by Sheila Turnage

The Caldecott Medal: This Is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen

Caldecott Honor Books:

Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds

Extra Yarn, illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett 

Green, illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

One Cool Friend, illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo

Sleep Like a Tiger, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski

The Printz Award: In Darkness, by Nick Lake

Printz Honor Books:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein

Dodger, by Terry Pratchett

The White Bicycle, by Beverley Brenna

Coretta Scott King Book Award (Author): Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America, written by Andrea Dais Pinkney and illustrated by Brian Pinkney

Coretta Scot King Book Award (Illustrator): I, Too, Am America, illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Langston Hughes

William C. Morris Award: Seraphina, by Rachel Hartman

And congratulations to Katherine Paterson, who received the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, and Tamora Pierce, the 2013 recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults. 

Check out the complete list of ALA awards and award-winners at their website.

Newbery Medal Caldecott Medal Printz Award This Is Not My Hat The One and Only Ivan In Darkness Hand In Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America Seraphina Tamora Pierce Katherine Paterson Katherine Applegate Jon Klassen Andrea Davis Pinkney Brian Pinkney Rachel Hartman Nick Lake
  1. annadowdall reblogged this from twigbookshop
  2. twigbookshop posted this